Weekends and Cooking

I’m trying to use weekends more intentionally than I have been.

Get things done while F is glued to J, being glued to J myself for at least a little while during daylight hours, seeing friends, meal planning so J can grocery shop, and cooking ahead.

We cooked a fair bit ahead in the time leading up to C’s birth. We didn’t plow through it all immediately – I was feeling good, we had family in town to help, and we’re not too bad at throwing together quick meals. But it was sooo nice to have them on days when a home-cooked meal wouldn’t have otherwise happened.

Last weekend, we banked three (yes, 3) lasagnas, straight into the downstairs freezer. Score. And by “we,” I mean that I intended to do it but J did it because I was obviously not going to get it done. I’m telling you – he’s good. ❤

Then I cooked a batch of slow-cooker lentils, divided it into several mug-sized servings and one larger serving, and froze it all.

With that all done, I’m eyeing Deb’s pho recipe while the weather is still cool.

Leave a Reply

